Revs Family Sauce

To kick off National Barbecue Month, I thought I would do a write up on the first sauce I ever learned to make. My dad taught me this sauce at a very young age, smoking ribs in the electric Little Chief, but it works with all sorts of pork, and even brisket and tri tip. 

This sauce is thin and chunky, and rather acidic. The best way we knew to tell when it was done was when you choked tasting it. A combination of hot steam and vinegar can really pack a punch. This particular recipe makes a lot, but from what I understand, it had been quadrupled from its source, so it should scale well.

This is almost acidic enough that a hot water bath canner may work, but I’ve done no personal research on this, so the risk is yours. If you know of how to test for the ph levels, or have experience canning similar things, please let me know, and I will update the post accordingly.

Ingredients

  • 2.5 cups of white vinegar
  • 5 cups of water
  • 10 ounces of white sugar, about 1.25 cups. I like to substitute brown sugar for 20%
  • 5 tsp cracked black peppercorns
  • 8 tsp salt
  • 3-4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • Juice of two lemons
  • 2 large onions, diced
  • 8 cups ketchup
  • 1 cup Worcestershire sauce

Steps

  1. Prepare your ingredients; crack your peppercorns, dice the onions, juice the lemons (I like to soak them in warm water for 5 minutes, then roll the lemon across the counter with pressure before cutting open to juice), measure out all the sugar.
  2. In a 6 quart or larger pot, heat some oil until shimmering, then saute the onions until translucent, about 5 minutes.
  3. When onions are translucent, add the wet ingredients, vinegar water Worcestershire, lemon juice. Bring this to a simmer.
  4. Once the liquid and onions are simmering, add the ketchup, stirring after every addition, then add the rest of the ingredients to the pot.
  5. Simmer at least 1 hour, or until you cough tasting it.

Notes

  • Serve hot, or add your meat directly to the pot and simmer until done.
  • I’ve not yet tried this in the pressure cooker, but it’s even easier than the chipotle cherry, so it should be just fine
  • Stores in the fridge about a week, will freeze for months, but again, I’m interested in canning, so when I find out I will update this post accordingly.
Leave a Reply

